Changed for the Better

Standard

Creative. Self-starter. Initiative. Passionate. Eager to Learn. Hard-working.

Leader. Entertainer. Collaboration. Teamwork. Tough. High Expectations. Cheerleader.

Research. Plan. Produce. Celebrate. 

Giver. Community. Loving. Caring. Witty. Inspiring.

All In.

 

Those are just a few ways I would describe myself…who I am. I guess I want you to understand more about who I am as you read these Stories from the Leopard Lair. I have always been a hard worker. No matter what the task, I put everything into it that I can. It’s not about being the best, or being first…with me it’s about putting your best foot forward.

“I’ve heard it said that people come into our lives for a reason. Bringing something we must learn. And we are led to those who help us most to grow if we let them. And we help them in return….”

Seven years ago I took a leap and moved eight hours away from home to a place that I only knew as a great vacation spot. My boss and mentor pass a job opportunity that he found and said that I would be great at it and to apply. Confused at why he would want me to leave…he was really pushing me to “move up” in the world of higher education and continue my professional development. I really didn’t want to apply for the position. Why would I want to leave my home, my mom, everything that was familiar to me?

But I applied. Once I had the phone interview, I started to get more excited…but still not sure that I would want to make this big leap and jump into the unknown. When I was on the plane heading to the big city, it hit me. My creative juices started to flow and I began jotting down lines and lines of ideas for this new position. So many thoughts and ideas that the man next to me asked if I was a writer! I had faith that I could do this. Embrace the unknown and make it familiar. 

“Like a comet pulled from orbit, as it passes the sun. Like a stream that meets a boulder halfway through the wood. Who can say if I’ve been changed for the better? But because I knew you I have been changed for good…”

A month later, my family helped me pack up the U-haul, loaded up the pup and we were on our way to San Antonio from Amarillo! It was a whirlwind…walking into an empty office with an empty desk and empty bookshelf. Seven years and two promotions later, the bookshelf, files, notebooks, and walls were filled with programs, activities and success stories of things created, tried, ditched, tweaked…I became part of a new community, making a difference, creating change, embracing spirit and traditions, growing as a professional.

“It well may be that we will never meet again in this lifetime. So let me say before we part. So much of me is made of what I learned from you. You’ll be with me. Like a handprint on my heart…”

While my experiences and opportunities were many…I would not change my past seven years. My job was fun. Planning events. Connecting with students. Providing opportunities for students. Meeting celebrities. Learning new skills. Creating new programs. Learning the Wobble. Making friends. Throwing confetti. Filling the sky with fireworks. Many, many, many exciting and memorable moments…and I am so thankful that these experiences were part of my story.

“And now whatever way our stories end, I know you have re-written mine by being my friend…”

But part of growing up is learning when to say when. In April 2014 I decided that I needed to retire from Higher Education. I needed a change. Falling in love, getting older, and making room in my life for family are things that played a part in my decision. I am excited for the journey ahead…looking forward to the possibilities and the new adventures in life. 

“Because I knew you…I have been changed for good.”

 

Have you seen the musical Wicked? I fell in love with the soundtrack before I ever had the opportunity to see it. My friend Jen and I saw it at the Majestic in San Antonio. I’m not afraid to say that I cried a few times during the show. It was so touching. Beautiful. Empowering…. I guess I can say this journey in San Antonio has been a sort of Wicked story. The green quotes throughout this entry are lyrics from Wicked’s “For Good.” It’s one of the many beautiful scores from the musical. If you haven’t heard the music or seen the musical…put it on your To Do list! You will be changed for the better…

 

 

 

 

About LeopardBuffalo

Let's be honest...I am not great at writing blogs. My first one I started is about San Antonio and things to do. There's a list…but I haven't done it all, and those that I have completed, I haven't blogged about completely! I was tired of the "Top 10" lists available online, so I worked with various friends and colleagues to create the 100 Things to Do in San Antonio. Readers may chime in with their experience or thoughts as well. My newest one, starting July 2014, is a collection of stories. Life stories, things on my mind. Photos. Just things I would like to take note and share with you. Stories from the Leopard Lair will be conversational and honest.

Leave a comment